6 months and 10 days or “What happened here?”

Dear Readers,
I took 6 months and 10 days to focus. And now I’m back. I had a lot of studying to do and I’ve worked hard and now I’m back. You’ve probably already forgotten what my blog was like and what I used to write so I’m going to catch you up a bit on what I’ve been doing and why I’ve been so absent. First off, I didn’t find inspiration to write on here because books had lost their magic. In the last 6 months, all I read was stuff I had to read for school. And if you do something just because you have to and not because you want it, you just lose it. What I’ve realised in the last 6 months is that I just have to concentrate and widen my horizons to find inspiration. But I’m really glad to write again. It feels right and it feels like home. I’m very excited for the months to come and for everything ahead of me. I’ve turned 20 a few weeks ago and I thought to myself: Hell, time went by so fast. And now I’m thinking about the time when I started this blog, I was 16 and I was a completely different person. I was scared of a lot of things that are not understandable anymore. I was scared of losing people for just simply being myself, I had no idea about a lot of things and to be honest when it comes to mathematics I still don’t. As well as my thoughts about love and everything it entails. They were completely different and I thought it’s the only thing to achieve. I never thought I’d write a Novella of 65 pages and yet I did. So many things have become possible, some things I had to learn were not. I’ve found friends, some stayed, some left. I’ve learned what it feels like to fear for the life of someone very close. (The person is alive and well again) Looking back, I’m really happy about the way I’ve grown. And all the things I’ve learned to understand, all the experiences, good and bad, made me who I am. I wouldn’t change a thing.

Now, I realise that this sounds like a really bad pep-talk about growing up and it sounds like I’m really old. Not my intention! And it might sound like a really bad apology for having been gone so long. Again, not my intention! It is simply something I want to talk about and reflect on. Because it’s something that we all know. And sometimes think about. And people often don’t like to hear about that sort of stuff because they say one shouldn’t take oneself too seriously. Yes, I agree. However, sometimes it’s important to talk about it and get it out of your system. That’s what I’m doing. Secondly, I want to take this in another direction: future plans. In 47 days I’m going on my USA trip. I can’t wait for this adventure. Meeting all sorts of new people. A new culture. Taking lots of pictures with my new camera I got for my birthday. I got a Lumix DMC-FZ300. Still learning how to take good pictures. But that will be fun. I’ve already taken some pictures but I really want to learn how to work with shutter speed. Does anybody know? If so, please go ahead and contact me. If not that’s okay too. I’m planning on making a small travel blog for the 5 weeks that I’ll be away and other travels. Or maybe I’ll do a series on here. I haven’t decided yet. Please let me know what you think. And after my travels, I’ll start university. I’m so excited. There will be so much to learn, so many interesting things. Linguistically and in literature. Philosophy will be interesting too, I suppose. Well, I’ll see. Before all of that, I still have to pass my finals and then I’m done and can do all those things I just told you about. In 2 weeks. So I might not be as active in 2 weeks. But I can say, that I will not be gone for 6 months again anytime soon. I’m sticking to it. Definitely. Or at least for the foreseeable future. I think this is a good place to get to the end of my “I’m-back-Post“. I hope you are all doing great and living life to its fullest. What can I say, I’m glad to be back. And I wanna put a quote in here that I have found to be quite inspiring lately.

“Live, travel, adventure, bless and don’t be sorry.” 

By Jack Kerouac

I’m trying to live after that now, for it gives me the motivation to keep going further. I hope you liked this quote and that it gives you some kind of inspiration as well.

Good morning, Goodnight or whatever time it is wherever you’re reading this from.

Sincerely,

Gioia

Leave a comment